Zoning Hearing Board


The Ferguson Township Zoning Hearing Board consists of five members and three alternates. Zoning Hearing Board members are each appointed by the Board of Supervisors to a four-year term. The Zoning Hearing Board works closely with the Zoning Administrator. Meetings are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month, usually in the evening. The Board reviews and rules on appeals and variance requests.

The Zoning Hearing Board is a quasi-judicial body that works independently of the Board of Supervisors. Each year, a solicitor is appointed to serve this body as legal counsel at hearings and to prepare documents that reflect the decisions of the Zoning Hearing Board.

The Zoning Hearing Board decides on the following issues:

  • Requests for variance from sections of the Township Zoning Ordinance and Sign Ordinance.
  • Appeals of decisions made by the Zoning Administrator regarding the granting or denial of a permit, issuance of any cease-and-desist order, and determinations made in administration of the ordinances.

Ferguson Township Zoning Hearing Board

Michael Twomley, Chair (Ward I)

Swamy Anatheswaran
(Ward II)

Karen English (Ward II)

Jeff Stover, Solicitor

Susan Buda (Ward III)

Michael MacNeely (Ward I)

Zoning Hearing Board Alternates

Charles Farrell (Ward I)

Irene Miller (Ward I)

Marc Friedenberg (Ward I)


Zoning Hearing Board Meeting Minutes

For more information about the duties and responsibilities of the Zoning Hearing Board, contact the Zoning Administrator by email or by calling (814) 238-4651.