Parks & Recreation Committee

The Ferguson Township Board of Supervisors (BOS) has created a Parks & Recreation Committee.

At its Regular Meeting on Tuesday, January 2, 2018, the Ferguson Township Board of Supervisors (BOS) appointed seven members to serve on the committee.

The seven appointees include four appointed to 4-year terms expiring December 31, 2021, and three appointed to 2-year terms expiring December 31, 2019, all retroactive to January 1, 2018.

4-year appointees
Shawna Doerksen
sdoerksen@twp.ferguson.pa.us

Niki Tourscher
ntourscher@twp.ferguson.pa.us

Norris Muth
nmuth@twp.ferguson.pa.us

Connie Puckett
cpuckett@twp.ferguson.pa.us

2-year appointees
Laura Moser
lmoser@twp.ferguson.pa.us

Kathie Vondracek
kvondracek@twp.ferguson.pa.us

Andrew McKinnon
amckinnon@twp.ferguson.pa.us

The Committee shall advise the Township Manager and Board of Supervisors on matters pertaining to parks and recreation including, but not necessarily limited to land acquisition for the purposes of active or passive recreation including open space preservation, parkland development, and programming. Such advice and responsibilities shall include:

a. Alignment of local definitions of recreational amenities and services with regional definitions;
b. Assistance in development of Park Master Plans;
c. Periodic review of existing Park Master Plans as the needs of the community evolve;
d. Recommending parkland development in accordance with established Park Master Plans;
e. Facilitating community engagement on matters pertaining to parkland development, use/programming, and land acquisition for active or passive recreational purposes;
f. Connectivity of parkland to existing and proposed bike paths and shared use paths;
g. Reviewing programming needs for Township residents and recommending changes to programming through the liaison to the Centre Region Parks and Recreation Authority;
h. Assisting Township staff and the Board of Supervisors in amending and updating the Ferguson Township Recreation, Parks, and Open Space Plan;
i. Other duties relative to the betterment of active and passive recreational amenities and services in the Township.

View Ordinance 1039, which Enacted the Parks & Recreation Committee

Parks and Recreation Committee Bylaws and Rules of Procedure

Parks and Recreation Committee Meeting Minutes